Dressing for the Weather

As you might imagine, with only SEVEN DAYS UNTIL LIFTOFF, I am finding it difficult to think about anything other than Ireland or Spain.  I am SO EXCITED!!!   Even agonizing over the maddening details like deciding what gifts to bring to our family in Ireland (perhaps wine?  but what if they don’t like wine?  a dolphin wood carving?  maybe something more Catholic-y?  … wine it is!) is somehow very satisfying.  My mind is chewing and savoring and digesting the fact that we are finally going. 

By far, the most enjoyable brain fodder for me has been deciding what to wear.  Although admittedly this is causing me some anxiety being that Ireland is supposed to be rainy and chilly – I believe 59 degrees or so on average, and Spain is supposed to be sunny and hot – 80 degrees or so.  Packing for two very different climates in one very limited bag may prove to make me crazy insane-o, but I swear to GOD I will be a well-dressed crazy insane-o.

So here is my solution:  See Spain wardrobe below:


How nice of me and the rest of my identical octuplets to try on all of these outfits to take a picture.  You’re welcome.  (Side note:  I am pretty positive that this model is the actress who plays ONE of the women Don Draper sleeps with in season three of Mad Men.  The teacher.  Am I right?)

Anyway.  My octuplet sisters and I are modeling part of Heidi Merrick’s Spring 2012 collection.  I feel that bright colors will work well to both enliven the drizzly atmosphere of the one, and reflect the vibrancy of the other.  Also, although some of these outfits are decidedly Spainy, most of them could easily be made Irelandy.  Throw some cozy leggings on underneath some of those, add tall black water-friendly riding boots, a scarf, and a coat and wha-blam!  Irelandy.  So although I do not own any pieces from Heidi Merrick’s Spring 2012 collection (YET!) I am trying to build a travel wardrobe with outfits like this.  Key words and phrases:  versatility, simplicity, chose a color palette and stick with it, layers, comfort, and leave some room in the bag for NEW items of clothing.

How will our cats will fare without constant adoration?   When exactly should I take my Advil PM on the flight across the Atlantic to minimize jet lag?   Is our landlord really going to renovate our bathroom while we’re gone?  (Crossing fingers for an affirmative answer on that one.)  Will we be able to catch up on Dexter on the iPad during our travels?  Is it wrong to wear Spring 2012 when it’s only Fall 2011?  All these worries will soon subside as the old man and I inch ever closer to our precious sixteen days of cold Irish beer in warm Irish pubs, and cool Spanish sangria on hot Spanish terraces, perfectly attired and mutually admired.

2 thoughts on “Dressing for the Weather

  1. chameleonic says:

    i love these bright colours, so pretty!

  2. Jennifer says:

    I heart all of these outfits! 🙂 Jen xoxo http://mystylisticlife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

